Lake Linden-Hubbell Public Schools Board of Education Reorganizational Meeting January 13, 2025

The Reorganizational Meeting of the Lake Linden-Hubbell Schools Board of Education was held in Room 102 of the High School building on Monday, January 13, 2025. The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Brad Codere at 5:30 p.m.

Present: Jeff Dennis, Jennifer Beaudette, Lori Ambuehl, Patricia Burton, David Anderson,

Melissa Corrigan, Courtney Holzberger

Absent: None

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Oath of Office was administered to Board members.

As the highest ranking officer, Patricia Burton was named temporary Chairperson and took over conducting the meeting.

A motion was made by Jennifer Beaudette and supported by David Anderson to accept the agenda. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

There were no expressions from the public.

A motion was made by Lori Ambuehl and supported by David Anderson that Patricia Burton be nominated as President of the Board of Education for 2025. There being no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Roll call vote. Ayes: Jeff Dennis, Jennifer Beaudette, Lori Ambuehl, Patricia Burton, David Anderson, Melissa Corrigan. Nays: Courtney Holzberger. Motion carried and Patricia Burton was declared elected President.

A motion was made by Lori Ambuehl and supported by Patricia Burton that Jeff Dennis be nominated as Vice President of the Board of Education for 2025. A motion was made by Melissa Corrigan and supported by David Anderson that Courtney Holzberger be nominated as Vice President of the Board of Education for 2025. There being no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Roll call vote for Jeff Dennis. Ayes: Jeff Dennis, Jennifer Beaudette, Lori Ambuehl, Patricia Burton. Nays: David Anderson, Melissa Corrigan, Courtney Holzberger. Motion carried and Jeff Dennis was declared elected Vice President by majority vote.

A motion was made by Patricia Burton and supported by Jeff Dennis that Lori Ambuehl be nominated as Secretary of the Board of Education for 2025. There being no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried and Lori Ambuehl was declared elected Secretary.

A motion was made by Melissa Corrigan and supported by David Anderson that Courtney Holzberger be nominated as Treasurer of the Board of Education for 2025. A motion was made by Lori Ambuehl and supported by Patricia Burton that Jennifer Beaudette be nominated as Treasurer of the Board of Education for 2025. There being no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Roll call vote for Courtney Holzberger. Ayes: David Anderson, Melissa Corrigan, Courtney Holzberger. Nays: Jeff Dennis, Jennifer Beaudette, Lori Ambuehl, Patricia Burton. Motion failed. Roll call vote for Jennifer Beaudette. Ayes: Jeff Dennis, Jennifer Beaudette, Lori Ambuehl, Patricia Burton. Nays: David Anderson, Melissa Corrigan, Courtney Holzberger. Motion carried and Jennifer Beaudette was declared elected Treasurer.

The following Board of Education members will serve as Trustees during 2025: David Anderson, Melissa Corrigan and Courtney Holzberger.

A motion was made by Lori Ambuehl and supported by Jennifer Beaudette that the School District Bylaws be adopted as written in the NEOLA manual; that the Board of Education shall conduct supervision of the District according to the laws of the State of Michigan; that the School District shall be operated as a General Powers School District. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

A motion was made by Jeff Dennis and supported by Lori Ambuehl that Regular Board meetings shall be held on the second Monday of each month starting at 5:30 p.m. in Room 102 of the High School. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

A motion was made by Jennifer Beaudette and supported by David Anderson designating the Office of the Superintendent to be responsible for posting public notices for all Board of Education meetings. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

A motion was made by Jennifer Beaudette and supported by Lori Ambuehl to accept the Board of Education Committee assignments for 2025. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

A motion was made by Jennifer Beaudette and supported by Lori Ambuehl to appoint Jennifer Beaudette as the Lake Linden-Hubbell Board of Education Delegate to the Copper Country Association of School Boards, and Patricia Burton as Alternate Delegate, for 2025. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by David Anderson and supported by Jennifer Beaudette to adjourn the meeting at 5:42 p.m. Roll call vote. Motion unanimously carried.